Skip to content


Men’s Pennant wrap up

The 2017 Men’s Pennant season was completed last Sunday.

The undoubted highlight of our year was in Division 2 where we won the pennant and promoted to the prestigious Division 1 for the 2018 season.  This is a wonderful achievement by all the team members and we look forward to a long stint in the premier pennant division. The leadership of captain Tom Sorrell was instrumental in our successful season, thanks Tom.  Click here for a full Division 2 end of season wrap

Division 3 completed the season with a comprehensive 6-1 victory.  A few near misses and a putt here and there that lipped the cup saw the team finish fourth by one individual game and, thus, relegated to Division 4 next year.  Nonetheless, the team were competitive all season and all players had had solid wins during the season.  New captain Brendan Simon had the team organised and ready to fire each week so thanks to Brendan for his great work.

Division 5 were in the hunt to win the pennant right up to the last putt on the last day.  In the end they finished second.   Overall they had a very good season with a number of new players proudly representing the club and looking forward to going one step better next year.     New captain Denis Wallace bought enthusiasm and pride in wearing the team colours to his team, well done Denis.

Check out the Div 5 team that fought it out for the flag in the last round.


There is an award for the individual Player of the Year based on matches played, matches won and victory margins.  This year our Division 2 newcomer and star performer, Michael O’Keefe was the winner winning all six of his matches.  Michael will be presented with his prize on Presentation night later in the year.  Division 5 father and son pair of Nick Hill and Alex Hill were 2nd and 3rd respectively both also going through the season undefeated.  Rounding out the top ten were Tom Williamson, Peter Dowling, Tom Sorell, Chris Leaver, John McLennan, Leroy Sharrock and Bryan McCorkell who all had stellar seasons.

Thank you to each and every player who represented Leongatha this year, including those willing last minute substitutes that helped us field  strong teams each week.

Scroll to top