Skip to content

Month: March 2019

Men’s Pennant – March 31 – Round 3

Division 1 had another bye this week.  Their season proper will swing into action next Sunday when they will start a run of three consecutive matches in a strange old season.   Hopefully the team fires up and books a place in this year’s final with a few good wins.

Division 3 had an excellent win against ladder leaders Lang Lang.  By virtue of their 6 matches to 1 victory they have now taken top spot on the ladder.  Captain Chris Indian and hard-nosed matchplay exponent Bryan McCorkell  both won their 3rd consecutive match to help their team notch up their second win of the year.

Division 5 are starring.  Another win today sees them undefeated after three rounds and clear ladder leaders.  A special appearance by Mick Oliver resulting in a comprehensive 7/6 victory helped the team to victory.  Stand-in captain Garry Rotteveel has the team firing and looking good to reach this year’s final at this stage.

Click here to view the pennant ladders

Vern Pease Ambrose March 30

Today we had a great field of 76 players that braved some interesting weather to play the Vern Pease Ambrose event.

The winning team with a great score of 55.6 was

Rod Hopcraft

Neryl Hopcraft

Andrew Westaway

Kevin Castwood

Runners Up with a score of 58.5 was



Frank GILL

Wendy-anne PARKER

14 NTP: Liz Hodge with 1.4m

16th NTP: Ian Watson with .88m


Click Here for the prize report



Col Sperling Stableford – March 28

Today’s field of 76 played for trophy designed, built and donated by life member, Col Sperling.   Many thanks to Col for his much sought after creations.

Aside from the scores, today’s highlight was the return of our mate Ian Murchie after a long break from golf whilst he successfully fought off a serious health issue.  It was great to see Ian back on the course and we look forward to announcing him as a winner very soon.

Gary McGrath is enjoying a rich vein of form and took the honours today with 38 points to win C grade.  Paul Luck and Col Martin won B grade and A grade respectively both recording tidy 36 points.

Click here to view all today’s prizewinners

Wednesday 27th March 2019 – Ann Debenham Stableford

Today’s event was sponsored by Noreen Williams, thank you Noreen for your ongoing sponsorship of this day.  The winners of each grade have won the Ann Debenham Stableford Board Event and will be honoured at the Club Presentation Night at the end of the year.  We had a total of 41 compete for the honour of winning today.  A Grade winner was Toni West (12) 35 points, B Grade winner was Marianne Leaver (28) 33 points and C Grade winner was Noreen Williams (34) 30 points on c/b.

We also held the annual Anti-Cancer stall and made approx $600 (including the raffle), this will be donated to the Anti-Cancer Council.

The 9 hole comp had 5 players compete and the winner was Lynda Bassett (32) with 15 points.  New member Robin Smith won her first DTL Ball with 14 points.

Please click here for 18 hole results

Please click here for 9 hole results

2019 Esplanade Hotel Super League – Round 4 results

Some great scoring by several teams and individuals this round, but none better than the Wombats who blitzed their opponents and the the competition by posting an amazing team score of 164!!! Both Marea Maher and Neale Gillin scored 42 points each, while the two Garry’s,  Garry Friend and Gary McGrath chimed in with a lazy 40 each.  Wombats 164 points team score represents the highest score posted by a team in a single round in the 5-year history of the Super League, smashing the previous best of 154 by 10 shots!

The Round 4 Results were as follows:

  • Kookaburras  143    defeated     Platypuses   140
  • Kangaroos      147    defeated     Koalas           139
  • Wombats        164    defeated     Echidnas      136
  • Possums         142    defeated     Rosellas        130

After Round 4, the finals race looks to be a closely-fought affair, with at least 5 teams well in the hunt for a finals berth:

Rank Team P W D L PF PA % Points
1 POSSUMS 4 3 1 0 556 521 106.72 14
2 KANGAROOS 4 3 1 0 574 558 102.87 14
3 ROSELLAS 4 3 0 1 549 541 101.48 12
4 WOMBATS 4 2 1 1 581 553 105.06 10
5 KOOKABURRAS 4 2 0 2 531 536 99.07 8
6 PLATYPUSES 4 1 1 2 553 552 100.18 6
7 KOALAS 4 0 0 4 543 568 95.60 0
8 ECHIDNAS 4 0 0 4 521 579 89.98 0

Not surprisingly, this round’s Esplanade Hotel Voucher winner came from Marea Maher and Neale Gillin, with Marea edging out Neale to win on count-back with 42 points. Another win for the girls!!! Well done Marea.

The action is also heating up with the “Brownie” Medal awards to the male and female players who poll the most votes throughout the regular season rounds. Close tussles in both categories at present but we are keeping our voting secret for now!

Round 5 (spread over this week and next) has already begun, so good hitting!



Men’s Pennant – Round 2

A win, a loss and a bye.

Divvy 5 continued there good form with a 5-2 win over Lang Lang.  With two wins on the board already the Division 5 team are sitting on top of the ladder and are looking good for a berth in the final.

Division 3 lost 4-3 to the strong Meeniyan team, with the rub of the green going against them as they lost 2 matches on the 19th hole.  This week’s match against ladder leaders Lang Lang is shaping up as a pivotal match for the team.

Division 1 had a bye and had to look on as Lang Lang beat Philip Island showing that all three teams are evenly matched and an interesting battle for the main prize looms.

Saturday Stableford March 23

Today we had 77 players in our men’s event

Overall Winner: Gary McGrath with a great score of 40 points

A-Grade Winner: Ryan Thomas with 37 points

B-Grade Winner: John Fedderson with 39 points

14th NTP: Geoff Lewtas with 50cm

16th NTP: Oliver Stone with 65cm


Click Here for the full prize report


Today we had 17 players in our women’s event

A-Grade Winner: Wendy-Anne Parker with 29 points

B-Grade Winner: Coral Gray with 33 points

16th NTP: Lynda Bassett with 3m


Click Here for the full prize report

Putting Finals, NTP Shootout, Longest drive & Straightest Drive

Last night saw the conclusion of the Putting Finals along with a few other events which provided a great atmosphere for all involved. Winners of the nights events are listed below:

Putting Finals:

Winner: Dylan McMeekin

Runner-Up: Lachlan Thomas












NTP Shootout:

Winner: Brendan Simon

Straightest Drive:

Winner Fred de Bondt

Longest Drive: 

Winner: Andrew Henley













Big thank you to everyone that made the effort to come out for the night and we hope it was enjoyed by all.

Congratulations to all of the night’s winners.

Scroll to top