Skip to content

Month: November 2019

Saturday 30th November Stableford

Today we had 78 players in our men’s event

Overall Winner: John Moor (20) 39points c/b

A-Grade Winner: Mark Lafferty (4) 39Points

B-Grade Winner: Wayne Keen (17) 35points c/b


14th NTP: Phillipe duPlessis 0 .37cm

16th NTP: Andrew Henley 1.10m


Click Here for the full prize report


Today we had 21 players in our women’s event

A-Grade Winner: Anna deBondt (25) 37 points

B-Grade Winner: Debbie Miller (28) 36 points c/b

16th NTP: Sue Wylie 6.10m


Click Here for the full prize report


The field of 66 players was treated to perfect conditions for today’s stableford competition – known as “Rainbow Tee Day” as part of our contribution to Movember.

Shooting the lights out, Ian Blencowe blitzed the field to take out overall honours with 46 points! A-grade winner was Gordon Morrison with an excellent 42 points; while John McInnes took out B-grade with 39 points.

Click here for full details.

 IMG_1844 (004)

Womens Stableford Pink Tees

A fine, if somewhat breezy day saw Colleen Touzel win the A grade 18 hole competition with a score of 44 points. Coral Gray won the B Grade with 48 points and Barb Miller won C Grade with 43 points.


The winner of today’s 9 hole competition was Shirley Welsford with a score of 20 point


Click here for 18 hole Prize Report

Click here for 9 hole Prize Report


Saturday 23 November STABLEFORD

Today we had one of our Junior Members  James Patullo play his first 18 Hole competition.  Congratulations James your smiling face will be great to see around the club on a regular basis.

Today we had 52 players in our men’s event.  With cored greens, the scoring was extremely high.

Overall Winner: Bryan Roylance (23) 43 points

A-Grade Winner: Ken Wardle (13) 36points c/b

B-Grade Winner: Rob Martin (20) 42 points

14th NTP: Rob Martin 1.83m

16th NTP: Fred deBondt .75cm


Click Here for the full prize report


Today we had 11 players in our women’s event

Winner: Maryanne Gartner (29) 39 points

16th NTP: Marg Griffiths 5.20m

Click Here for the full prize report


Following completion of coring of the greens, a more modest field of 36 players experienced very warm and windy conditions for today’s stableford competition.

Taking the opportunity of a golfing experience elsewhere, Captain Colin Bear spirited a happy bunch of caravaners north to Euroa for a few days, while Joker Poker Chairman, Paul Luck, led a busload of members to Mirboo North for the day.

Winton Knop handled the challenging conditions best to win A-grade and overall with 39 points, while Mick Oliver also played very good golf to take out B-grade honours with 38 points.

Click here for full results.

Leongatha Tournament – Day 3 – Stableford

Saturday stableford – the weather was perfect, the course was in great condition, the greens were quick and a few players were surprised and elated to win a prize.

The women’s competition saw Victoria GC visitor, Virginia Andrews,  triumph in A grade with 35 points.  Dot Stubbs was runner-up with 30 points.  B grade was won by a very surprised Julie Keeble from Warragul GC with a mighty 26 points. Anne Gibson was even more surprised when her 24 points won  the B grade runner-up prize.  Fay Quilford hit the green on 16 to win NTP.

The men’s competition was a similar story with winners and runners-up as follows;

A grade – Winner, Kevin Halpin from Victoria GC with 33 points pipping Beaconhills member Aaron Le Dan on a countback.

B grade – Winner, Barry Attwood with 36 points.  Runner-up, Phillippe du Plessis.

C grade – Wayne Davey won to the cheer of the strong Beaconhills contingent.  His 36 points taking the honours over runner-up John McLennan with 33 points.

D grade  – Gary Sharrock posted a very nice 36 points to pip our 2028 Club Champion, Thomas Simon, who had 35 points.

Glenn Schaper from Sale GC won NTP on 14 with a shot to just 167 centimetres and tapped in the birdie putt.  Paul Dell’s shot to 5.46 metres was the best of the field on 16.

A group of happy winners is pictured below;


Leongatha Tournament – Day 2 – Ambrose

DSC05624 (2) DSC05626 (2) DSC05627 DSC05630150 players competed in our popular Ambrose events today.

The morning field teed off at 8:00 am in the day’s first shotgun start with the following groups taking the honours;

Women’s event – Marea Maher, Melina Wilder, Susan Wylie and Liz Hodge with 66 nett.  Karen Bear, Jan Brownlie, Marg Griffiths and Maryanne Gartner were one-eighth of of a shot behind to collect the runner up prize

Men & Mixed groups – Jon Tetau, Adrian Grinham, Michael McGrath and Paul Mason with a nett 54.625, with Alex Geyer, John Belli, Rod Mackenzie and Craig Harvey winning the runners-up prize after being pipped on a countback by the winning quartet.

Scratch event – Marilyn Williams, Ron Findlay, Dean Kellett and Russell Williams with 63 off the stick

NTP – 14 Graeme Watkins and 16 Dean Kellett.

The afternoon field teed off in the rain at 1:00 pm but finished the day in sunshine.  The winners were;

Scratch event – David Ayton, Tracey Ayton, Roland Rees and Chris Hurwood with 63 of the stick

Handicap event – Bill Howson, David Hull, Tony Gedye and Ross McRobert with a nett 55.625.  Russ Hodgson, Gary Couling, Chris Couling and Ricky Kennedy with nett 59 took out the runners-up prize.

NTP- Tony Gedye on 14 and Colin Bear on 16.

Leongatha Tournament – Day 1 – 4BBB Stableford

A capacity field of 132 golfers enjoyed pleasant conditions in a contest for honours on the first day of Leongatha’s Annual Tournament. Strong scoring in both of the men’s and women’s fields was a feature of the excellent overall results.

In the women’s field, Alison Strong and Patricia Miller shot an impressive 44 points to take the honours; from Susan Bowler and Fay Quilford on 41 points; with Colleen Touzel and Anne Gibson rounding out the placegetters in third place with 35 points.

In the men’s competition, Martin Edney and Stephen Travena top scored with 43 points. John Renwick and Arthur Nilsson teamed well to take out second place on countback with 42 points; ahead of Patrick Bowd and Bryan McCorkell, also on 42 points; ahead of Michael Mansour and Christopher Mansour on countback. who also shot 42 points.

Click here for Women’s results.

Click here for Men’s results.

Scroll to top