Home / Posts tagged "South Gippsland golf"

South Gippsland golf

Thank a Superintendent Day – 23rd September 2020

Wednesday the 23rd September is Thank a Superintendent Day, an event promoted by the peak Turf management bodies including the Australian Sports Turf Managers Association. Unfortunately, Covid 19 restrictions limited the numbers of members at the Club today who could join in directly and attend such a celebration this year for Dylan, Dennis, new apprentice Ethan and right hand volunteer, Pete...
Read More

Vale Kevin Castwood

The Board of the Leongatha Golf Club has been deeply saddened by the passing yesterday of a popular member, Kevin Castwood. Kevin was aged 72. In the little over a decade Kev has been a member of the club (he joined in May 2009) he has made a great contribution to it. He was a former Men’s Vice Captain and Captain, former Green’s Committee member, a current member of the Men’s Golf committee an...
Read More

Vale Bruce Gibson

It is with regret that we announce the passing of long-time member, Bruce Gibson. Bruce passed away on Wednesday after brief illness. A thorough gentleman, Bruce was a member of our club for nearly 30 years and during that time he and his wife Anne have been generous sponsors of it. Had it not been for the shutdown of golfing at present, the annual B & A Gibson American Foursomes Stableford...
Read More

LGC Course Update – Friday 24/04/2020

Yesterday, Dylan and Denis were busy finishing off the secondary work which was generated out of the Greens Couch Reduction Program.  Whilst excavating the collar around each green to a depth of 100 mm, an enormous amount of soil rich in turf root, was removed and re-cycled by placing it around the light rough on a number of fairways, with the intention of rehabilitating those areas devoid of soil...
Read More

LGC Course Update – Wed 22/4/2020 – Seeding

The seeding of the 9th green and the turf nursery was undertaken today to cap off a busy 8 days for the Team.  I asked you last update to think about how many kilograms of seeds would be needed to adequately cover the 9th green to produce a top class finish.  A few responders guessed between 30 to 100 kilo's but I am pleased to say the figure was actually closer to just 3 kilograms;  with about 9,...
Read More

LGC Course Update – Work On 9th Green Nears Completion

  With favourable weather conditions last week Dylan, Denis and their regular band of volunteers, have put in some long hours to push ahead with the 9th green project after the good work the previous week with the removal of the surface and then the base shaping, as previously reported on.  The week started with final shaping of the green, surrounds and the slope away from the green at the...
Read More

Leongatha Golf Club Chips In For Tough Win.

Break-In News. As our members know, over the past 4 months Leongatha Golf Club, along with most South Gippsland Golf Clubs and some small businesses,  have been at the mercy of an artful miscreant who had repeatedly broken into our clubs at night.  The three burglaries on our Clubhouse caused lots of distress and unnecessary costs in repairing the extensive damage, usually to points of entry an...
Read More

Australian Sports Turf Managers Association monthly magazine, TurfGrass

TurfGrass - March Issue 2020 Leongatha Golf Club featured prominently in the Australian Sports Turf Managers Association monthly magazine in March 2020. The magazine known as TurfGrass, features a Regional Golf Course in each issue with LGC Superintendent, Dylan McMeekin answersing a number of questions put to him for the March edition.By reading this article, ...
Read More

Leongatha Golf Club -Course Update – April 2020

Although our Leongatha Golf Course has been closed to members and visitors for playing golf, work that was commenced some time ago by Dylan and his team, on the removal of encroaching couch grass from the greens, has been steadily progressing with the assistance of a number of volunteers, led by Peter Seth.Although our Leongatha Golf Course has been closed to me...
Read More