Skip to content


H.V (Vern) Morcom Tribute Plate- Friday 23/2/2018

The inaugural H.V (Vern) Morcom Tribute Plate was played at Leongatha Golf Club on Friday 23rd February 2018. The game was Gentsomes.  Vern Morcom (dec.) was the Course Architect of Leongatha Golf Course and designed or re-developed many other Courses throughout South Eastern & Western Australia between the late 1920’s-1960.

Vern followed in his father, Michael (Mick) Morcom’s footsteps into golf Course construction and design, after Mick Morcom laid out the Kingston Heath Golf Course in 1923 based on the design of 1903 Australian Open Champion, Dan Soutar.

Dr Alister Mackenzie laid out the bunkering at Kingston Heath in 1925 and Vern assisted in that project.

Vern was later offered the position of  Head Greenkeeper at Kingston Heath GC which he accepted and remained there between 1929-1967.

The H V  (Vern) Morcom Tribute Plate was played between Clubs which were designed, constructed or redeveloped by Vern Morcom with a view to linking all such Clubs as a trail which golfing devotees can follow.

Teams representing Kingston Heath GC, Rosanna GC, Riversdale GC, Moe GC, Trafalgar GC, Cobram -Barooga GC, Flinders GC and Leongatha GC played off for the Plate, amongst on overall field of 68 players or 17 Teams. 11 other Clubs gave apologies but supported the event.


The winners of the H.V (Vern) Morcom Tribute Plate for 2018 were the Leongatha Golf Club team of life members Pat Pease & Alan Edney, General Manager Josh Hall and Women’s Champion Rebecca Thomas with a score of 106 stableford points.

It was said the short game of Life members Pat and Alan (who was still celebrating his 88th birthday from the previous day) cemented the win ably assisted by the long games of Beck & Josh.



The H.V (Vern) Morcom trophy was presented to the winning team (Beck Josh Alan & Pat) by Guy Murfey and his sister Gail Chatziyakoumis, grandchildren of Vern Morcom.

Runners up  in the Plate were Flinders GC  team of Dean Burrows, John Hall, Laird Gordon & Jeffrey Smith on 96 points, with Kingston Heath GC team of Alex Cairncross, Rick Miller, Tim Miller & Cliff Mitchell, third with 95 points.

The winners of those Teams not playing for the Plate, on 105 points was the Team of  Maryanne Gartner, Michael Thomas, Lianne Adamson and Karen Orford, ahead of the team of Alison Strong, Faye Quilford Peter Waters & Ted Bruinewoud with 101 on c/b ahead of the team of Bert Borg, Terry Grace, Marea Maher & Geoff Maher also on 101 points.

The Women revelled in the Gentsomes format with top efforts coming from Karen Orford (49 points), Maryanne Gartner (45 points) & Lynda Bassett 44.

Well done to all. The H.V (Vern) Morcom Tribute Plate will be bigger next year from feedback already received, and played at another Morcom Course.



Scroll to top